Apple-Bourbon Palmiers

palmierslast (1 of 1)

I have been very excited to try my hand at palmiers (elephant ears) ever since I watched an episode of the Barefoot Contessa a few weeks ago where she made savory palmiers using pesto and goat cheese (Umm hell yes. Sign me up.)

That episode got me thinking; why couldn’t I do that with a homemade jam or jelly??

Now, in the meantime, I have been infusing bourbon with chai spices and a pinch of vanilla extract. I had been waiting for the right moment to try out an apple-bourbon jam and I was even thinking about giving some out for the holidays (I think I missed the bar this year!).

Let me just say, about the bourbon that had been infusing: Holy wowza. I mean, that smell, though. I could have drank that straight from the jar. (Not saying I still didn’t). The smell was a beautiful marrying of the spicy chai and the boozy bourbon.

applesandbourbon (1 of 1)

I made the jam over the stovetop and it turned out to be just enough for the amount of palmiers I wanted to make. I basically sautéed two apples and then reduced water and the chai bourbon with cinnamon and sugar. Super easy and this jam can be multi-purpose!

doughrolledout (1 of 1)

Ingredients:

For the Jam:

  • 2 large apples (I used Honeycrisp)
  • Zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 cup chai-spiced bourbon**
  • 3-4 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch

**I simply poured and divided bourbon into 2 mason jars with 2 tablespoons loose chai spices and 1 tsp vanilla. I sealed jars for 3 weeks and only used one jar for this recipe.

For the Dough:

  • 2 pre-packaged puff pastry
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar

palmierslinedupwithapple (1 of 1)

Directions: 

  1. Peel and cut the apples into small chunks and soften in a medium saucepan over medium heat until soft.
  2. Add in lemon zest and 1/2 cup of the chai bourbon and reduce for 5-7 minutes.
  3. Stir in water, cornstarch, sugar and cinnamon until jam begins to thicken and add the remainder of the spiced bourbon and then remove from heat and let cool for 20 minutes.
  4. Thaw out puff pastry dough and roll out onto a sugared surface, ensuring the surface is covered in sugar (this helps with caramelization).
  5. Spread the jam mixture onto the dough and from either side, roll inwards until both sides touch.
  6. Freeze the rolls for about 20-30 minutes (freezing them helps when cutting so the jam isn’t a complete mess)
  7. Cut into 1/8-1/4 inch slices and place onto a baking sheet lined with parchment or spray.
  8. Bake at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until dough is golden brown.

palmiersstacked (1 of 1)

palmierssideangle (1 of 1)

Enjoy!
Enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Apple-Bourbon Palmiers

Leave a Reply

