Ginger Spiced Pear & Raspberry Oatmeal

oatmeal1 (1 of 1)

Oatmeal is one of my go-to breakfasts. It’s easy, takes on whatever flavor you want to add to it, and you can make overnight oats and eat them cold or have the warmness of some hot oatmeal in the morning. There’s just a lot of flexibility! And I love me some flexibility with my food. Especially when you’re having a busy day. Or simply just want some oatmeal.

One thing about oatmeal that I think I would shy away from when making my own (not the store-bought flavor pack instant oatmeal) was the whole lack-of-flavor thing. Sometimes oatmeal can be very boring. And I despise boring food. Ahem. The reason for this whole blog; to make food and flavors exciting and never boring.

This time of year particularly, pears are at their sweetest. One combination that I love is pear and ginger. It’s just so yummy and underrated. Ginger really adds a different dimension to food and a little bit goes a long way. I figured pear and ginger, yes. But I was missing another element. And that’s when I thought: Raspberries! Yes, of course. The tartness from the berries really pulls this oatmeal together. It’s a delicious flavor explosion.

oatmeal2 (1 of 1)

Ingredients: (Yields 1 serving)

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats (I used quaker)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 pear chopped
  • 1/4 cup raspberries
  • 2 tsp grated fresh ginger

Directions: 

  1. In a small pot over high heat, bring almond milk to a boil.
  2. Add the rolled oats, water, sugar, and salt and cook for 5-7 minutes until all milk has been absorbed.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in ginger. Top with berries and pears and stir together.

Super easy, full of flavor, and perfect for workday mornings or even as overnight oats, which I did yesterday. To do that, just simply place all ingredients in a mason jar or container and let the oats soak overnight. I hope you enjoy! What are your favorite oatmeal combinations?

 

oatmeal3 (1 of 1)

oatmeal4 (1 of 1)

One thought on “Ginger Spiced Pear & Raspberry Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

