Peppermint Mocha Mousse

Peppermint Chocolate Mousse
Peppermint Chocolate Mousse

Umm. I think this is the best thing I’ve ever made. No, really. This is that good. I like chocolate mousse. I don’t love it, but I like it just the same. I think, again, I just need tons of flavor in anything I make or enjoy. So for me, I prefer a richer, darker chocolate mousse. And this peppermint mocha mousse does just the trick!

Cutting the chocolate
Cutting the chocolate

A few weeks ago, I had gotten this idea for a festive, December-y, winter-y dessert. Now, I had never tried my hand at making my own mousse before, but I figured that it’s always fun to try something new and if it doesn’t work the first time, always consult a cooking guide book or ask an expert. I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but this mousse was pretty damn good on the first try. And just in time for the holidays, amiright?!

I think you’re going to love this peppermint chocolate mousse just as much as I do!

moussefavorite (1 of 1)-2

Ingredients: (Yields 6 individual servings) 

  • 8 ounces 60% or more cacao chocolate. (I used Ghirardelli)
  • 2 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 3 tbsp cold-brewed coffee (or just coffee leftover from the morning!)
  • 1 tbsp coffee grinds or instant espresso
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 1/2 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream

Directions: 

  1. Finely chop the chocolate into 1/4 inch strips on a cutting board.
  2. Using a double-boiler (or a medium pot with a medium frying pan), bring the bottom pot to a boil. In a separate mixing bowl, whip egg yolks with 1 tsp sugar. Place egg white in a separate bowl.
  3. Place the chocolate, peppermint extract, water, coffee, and grinds in the frying pan and let the heat from the boiling pot melt the chocolate all while stirring to prevent clumps.
  4. Once chocolate and ingredients are smooth, remove from heat and pour into a medium mixing bowl with whipped egg yolks and and 1 tsp sugar.  
  5. Whip egg whites until they are foamy and form peaks, about 5-7 minutes, and then fold into the chocolate mixture.
  6. Whip the heavy cream in a separate bowl until it thickens and forms soft peaks. Fold the heavy cream into the chocolate mixture and immediately pour into small ramekin dishes or small glass cups and refrigerate for 2 hours or up to 24 hours.

moussefavorite3 (1 of 1)

moussemiddle (1 of 1)

moussefavorite2 (1 of 1)

moussebiteside (1 of 1)

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Peppermint Mocha Mousse

Leave a Reply

