Orange Banana Nut Bread

Crappy quality, but this little guy was so tasty!
Crappy quality, but this little guy was so tasty!

Who doesn’t love a nice, moist banana bread in the morning? Or even with a cup of tea at night? Just thinking about it makes me want to bake more. It’s been a few days since I’ve posted due to the holidays, but I wanted to share a little recipe I whipped up last week. I ended up making a little orange-infused banana nut bread before my lovely Thanksgiving trip visiting Taylor’s family (who are excellent cooks, by the way!)

This is partially totally inspired by my abundance of extremely overly ripe bananas and oranges just sitting around at my house. Oh, and because we’re approaching baking season (Hallelujah!!).

I hope you’ll enjoy and try out this take on the traditional banana-nut bread. It sure is a winner with my dad already. The cardamon is a really interesting flavor, but surprisingly works well with the cinnamon and orange. I hope you enjoy!

bananabread3 (1 of 1)

Ingredients for the bread:

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 4 medium ripe bananas, mashed well
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cardamon
  • 1 cup crushed walnuts
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tbsp orange zest

For the glaze topping:

  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cardamon
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients: The mashed bananas, eggs, butter, orange juice, and zest.
  3. In a larger bowl, sift together the dry ingredients: Flour, sugar, salt, cardamon, and baking soda.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix well with a hand-mixer, about 5 minutes, until everything is smooth.
  5. Fold in the chopped walnuts and then pour into a greased 8 1/2 X 4/12 pan. (This recipe will make one, exactly).
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for about 40-50 minutes** or until a toothpick is removed clean.

For the glaze:

  1. Melt butter and whisk together with orange juice. Add in sugar.
  2. Next, whisk in the spices and cornstarch until mixture thickens, about a minute. Then you’re done!!

** Now, I was at my parents’ house with their ancient 1980’s oven, so it did not bake very quickly. I would test your oven and judge accordingly. I was anticipating 35-40 minutes, but I had to go longer than that.

I apologize for the low quality photos. It’s hard to achieve natural light, especially since it’s getting so dark out lately. I usually plan my food adventures on days where I know I’ll be getting a fair amount of time and natural light and this was just not one of those cases. Womp, womp.

In other news, I’m so excited to announce that one of my recipes, Merry Moscow Mules, was published in a Buzzed article recently! You can check it out here!

Leave a Reply

