Hartzell House & Ohiopyle

So this past weekend, my boyfriend Taylor and I had left Pittsburgh on an outing to a Bed & Breakfast in Ohiopyle for his belated birthday celebration! I knew I wanted to surprise him this year (which I sort of accomplished. Sort of) and we both love weekend getaways. It’s just so nice to get away from the city and spend some time outdoors. He loves everything outdoorsy and I knew he had been to Ohiopyle once, but only briefly as he cycled by. I have only been there once myself when I was very young. I also thought that I wanted to do something a little bit different. Last Christmas, he surprised me with a weekend cabin stay in North Carolina was absolutely perfect, and we had stayed in a hotel and condo over the summer for other trips we have taken together. That left me with the thought of a Bed & Breakfast! I knew neither of us have ever been to a B&B before, but figured we’d enjoy it. I did some research online for good reviews, with a Victorian theme (our favorite!) for over a handful of activities in the beautiful Laurel Highlands, in a nice central location for lots of activities.

Hartzell House B&B
Hartzell House B&B 🙂

That said, this is how I stumbled upon the gorgeous Hartzell House in Addison, PA! I want to preface the remainder of this post with the fact that I am not getting endorsed nor influenced to write a review about Hartzell House by any means. What I am sharing with you is how Taylor and I truly felt upon our stay and 100% real feeling. Hartzell House was absolutely incredible. This experience set the bar extremely high if we ever stay at another B&B when we travel. Kitty and David, the owners, have an extremely well-maintained Victorian B&B and they cook some of the BEST breakfast I’ve ever had. The cleanliness of the space was outstanding and the bed was very comfortable. But, my goodness; the breakfast was incredible. It was such a wonderful experience. And experience is the exact word for the breakfast!

This photo doesn't even do the French Toast justice!
This photo doesn’t even do the French Toast justice!

When we arrived Friday, David greeted us and, gave us a lovely tour, and took our breakfast orders. When we were given the options, we were astonished at how incredible all of the options sounded: A mushroom and shallot quiche, pumpkin polenta with cranberries, and a spiced waffle with ginger syrup (UMM YUM!). Saturday morning, we met a few other couples downstairs and were greeted by Kitty and then received the first course (yes, really!) for our breakfast, which was a ginger-spiced yogurt with fresh fruit, which was a fantastic combination of flavors, and a spiced apple scone. Then Taylor and I received our pumpkin polenta and spiced waffle. I couldn’t believe how amazing and hospitable these people were. Not only were they wonderful hosts, but also superb chefs. I wish I would have taken my camera downstairs to photograph the breakfast, but hopefully next time I’ll get a chance. This morning’s breakfast was just as amazing with a fruit-stuffed french toast, which I actually have photo documentation of because it was just that beautiful!

I know I may be rambling or ranting, but I seriously highly encourage you to check out Hartzell House if you’re in the area (or even if you’re not, you really must go). It truly was incredible and I can’t wait to go back for another stay! I have included a link to the Hartzell House website and their Facebook page at the bottom of this post.

The other portion of our trip included cycling the Greater Allegheny Passage (GAP) from Ohiopyle, checking out the waterfalls and trails, a tour of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater, and a taste of the Mountain State Brewing Company. Taylor is an avid cycler and I definitely wanted to make sure we were able to get some bike time in this trip, and we were certainly in luck with the weather. Overall, we had a fantastic weekend full of good food, nice weather, and wonderful company. 🙂

Fallingwater from the viewing spot where the Kaufmann's originally throughout their house would be built.
Fallingwater from the viewing spot where the Kaufmann’s originally throughout their house would be built.
IMG_3837
Beautiful weather for Ohiopyle!
IMG_3842
I couldn’t get over how pretty this trail was.
IMG_3845
One more, just for safe keeping.

–R

 

As promised, links to the Hartzell House website: http://www.hartzellhouse.com and Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/hartzellhouse/?fref=ts

One thought on “Hartzell House & Ohiopyle

  1. Ah, I can’t believe you guys have each only been up like twice now! Although I guess that’s easy for me to say–my parents are only about 20 minutes away. There’s a road right near their house that takes you about the mountain. Anyway, if you ever make it back up, you ought to hit Kentuck Knob and Christian Klay winery.

    I’m gonna keep this B&B in mind, though, because Paul and I have talked a couple times now about spending a weekend up there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

