Mini Sweet Potato Pies & Pecan Crumble

The scrumptious mini sweet potato pies!
The scrumptious mini sweet potato pies!

These little guys are just as good as they sound. And look, in my opinion. 🙂

I figured that I could use the leftover sweet potatoes from last night’s dinner– see Sweet Potato, Kale & Ground Turkey Hash –to make a yummy dessert. Sometimes, usually during the workday, (or odd hours of the evening) I get thoughts about flavors that work well together, or recipes that I want to create. This was definitely one of those cases. I ended up trying a new, flaky and delicious pie dough recipe–see The most delectable pie dough — and I used a muffin tin to bake these adorable mini pies!

For the pie dough, please refer again to the link above.

Recipe for the Sweet Potato Pie Filling:

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, boiled, peeled, and mashed
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup condensed milk
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees

Smashing the sweet potatoes...
Smashing the sweet potatoes…
  1. I combined the smashed and peeled sweet potatoes in a large mixing bowl with the sugar and melted butter.
  2. Next, I mixed in the eggs, and evaporated milk on a low mixing speed with a hand-held mixer.
  3. While mixing, I added the spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves, along with the salt and vanilla to the mixture. You want to make sure to mix very well as the sweet potatoes could still have chunks from when you had mashed them.

For the Pecan Topping:

  • 1 1/4 cup halved pecans
  • 2 tbsp. butter, softened
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar

In my Ninja Blender (or a food processor of any kind) I blended the ingredients by pulsing for several seconds.

I rolled the dough out and cut to fit into individual muffin tins. I then spooned the Sweet Potato mixture into the dough cups followed by spooning the Pecan mixture right on top.

Bake the mixture at 425 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Then reduce heat to 350 degrees and continue baking for 20 minutes or until a toothpick is removed without any liquid from cups.

This recipe yields roughly 16-20 muffin cups or one whole Sweet Potato Pie. Enjoy!

Just one more for the road. :)
Just one more for the road. 🙂

–R

 

 

Leave a Reply

