Sweet Potato, Ground Turkey, & Kale Hash

On this cold(er) Autumn day, I was really craving something with sweet potatoes. It’s been nearly a year since I’ve had a good sweet potato, and I was feeling a bit ambitious. I knew I had some lean ground turkey that I needed to use and a bit of fresh kale from my dad’s garden (yeah, I know, he’s pretty lucky!) so I decided, what the heck; I’m going to make a hash. Now I have seen various recipes before with sweet potatoes and chorizo, so this got me thinking that I definitely wanted to bring out a hint of spice with this hash.

Chopping the sweet potato
Here is the size of the chops I did for the sweet potato–not too big, not too small, but just around bite-sized.
The Chopped Onion
The diced onion
It smells AMAZING while cooking.
It smells AMAZING while cooking.
The lighting wasn't really superb, but this was the best I could do. It looked and smelled great!
The lighting wasn’t really superb, but this was the best I could do. It looked and smelled great!

Sweet Potato, Ground Turkey, & Kale Hash Recipe:

You will need:

  • 1 lb of ground turkey
  • 1/2 white onion, finely diced
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tbsp. EVOO
  • 2 tsp. cayenne pepper (a bit more if you prefer more spice)
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt & pepper
  • 1 cup fresh kale
  • 1/3 cup shredded cheese (I prefer fontina or provolone)
  • poached egg (optional)
  • 1 tsp parsley

Recipe takes a total of 25-30 minutes to cook and prep is 15-20 minutes. Yields 4-5 servings.

  1. I used a medium-sized skillet (with a cover) and I first chopped my onions and sweet potatoes and threw the onions, sweet potatoes, garlic, cayenne, EVOO and ground turkey in the skillet on medium-high temperature (about 300 degrees) for about 10-15 minutes, covered, for about 15 minutes. I checked on the hash intermittently, stirring, but trying to keep the lid on as much as possible so all the yummy juices would mix.
  2.  I waited another 10 minutes, then shredded the provolone cheese and added the kale to the hash and began to poach my egg.
  3. To poach an egg, simply fill a saucepan up halfway and almost bring to a boil. Put egg on a rounded spoon and gently place in the water. You want to try to make sure the yolk does not break and try to round up as much of the egg white as you can and gently remove on spoon after about 5-7 minutes.
  4.  I then places my egg in the middle of the skillet, and then added the cheese and parsley.

I was very satisfied by the texture of the sweet potatoes after a total of 25 minutes! It was definitely delicious and I pleased both my boyfriend and my best friend. (A double-win, I’d say).

Leave a Reply

